A Wounded Lion Who Forgot Its Roar

Leadership on the Back Leg

PSSSST…

You might have noticed, we’re on a shiny new platform (Beehiiv). Really upping the newsletter game.

Even better, we’ve launched the Commander in Chief Community (link fixed :).

WHAT’S INSIDE?

Basically, this has all my best stuff, coaching and consulting materials, latest tools, my book split into chapters, with a whole bunch of my best trainings, workshops, writing, podcast episodes you name it.

Oh yeah, the premium stuff?

When you subscribe (and help me pay the damn bills, only fair), you’re gonna get:

1) Group coaching - career, business, life, whatevs

2) Private monthly trainings and workshops. Think:

a. getting promoted,

b. getting paid more,

c. building a 6-figure side business,

d. building a brilliant personal brand.

3) Special discounts for 1-on-1 coaching

You’re gonna LOVE this. Yeah, it’s pretty MASSIVE value, amigo/a.

Time to get off the sidelines.

Like, this is basically all the best stuff I’ve ever produced, with weekly updates and a ton of new stuff.

YEP, IT’S FINALLY HAPPENING!! GET EXCITE!

And NOW, I’m gonna make you an offer you can’t refuse…

I don’t want to hear any objections. You straight up have ZERO EXCUSE, homie.

Get in there, get active, help me keep building this amazing community.

After that, it’s gonna cost you a whopping $10/month, to start.

Seriously, what are you still doing here? LOLZ.

Send this to 5 of your friends. NOW. Seriously. Pretty, please 🙂 

Whether it’s the first time, or if it’s just been a while, let’s connect and get to know each other (better) as humans.

  1. If we haven’t connected yet, connect with me on LinkedIN. I post some super useful stuff there, as well :)

  2. Put 30 minutes on my calendar to chat. No strings attached, whatsoever.

Let’s get to know each other (in many cases after not chatting for a long time) as humans, friends.

Of course, if there’s something I can help you with, just ask and I’ll do whatever I can to ask.

Don’t be a stranger, friend.

In this issue: Wounded Lions, Arise!

Wounded Lions, Stop Screeching and Roar!

I don’t know what’s going on these days, but there’s a lot of wounded lions in my orbit.

One’s been thwarted again and again and again from getting the job of his dreams.

Not by lack of substance (he’s head and shoulders above the other candidates).

It’s pure politics.

One potential boss straight up told him he’s the best candidate and he’d hire him in a heartbeat, but he’s a white male, so sorry, no can do.

Guy’s spent his whole life empowering women he’s worked with.

Brilliant dude, paid his dues and then some, done things the right way.

Stayed clean despite being wronged over and over and over by psychopaths at the top. Yep, in finance.

Another friend and client’s being chased by the hyenas that run his company.

They want him to twist himself in knots to be someone else, because he’s somehow “too much” for them.

He’s one of their top producers.

Like WTF, scavengers. I mean, people.

And as for me, something weird’s come over me lately, as well.

Probably the lack of sleep and much worry’s caught up with me and my immune system.

My ring finger got inflamed and filled with pus.

Skin issues, tooth issues.

Sorry for the TMI.

Been walkin’ around like a wounded lion.

Most of us are the walking wounded.

While the hyenas walk around howling and licking their chops and yelling and trying to get us to disappear or get weak enough to destroy us…

We’re f-ing tired of the things that haven’t worked out.

Economy’s soft.

Recruiters who place other candidates ahead of us, even when we’re far more qualified.

Sniping finance and tech bros with overinflated egos.

All those overconfident bozos (often, mediocre white males, but clearly not always) who licked the right ass at the right time or simply took credit for someone else’s hard work.

It’s the projects we didn’t win, the clients who didn’t renew, the obstacles (physical, mental, financial, logistical, emotional) that sprang up out of nowhere to thwart us.

We curse at ourselves and the unseen enemy screwing with us, grimace and shake our fists, but it’s no use.

Another loss, another shit pile, more blame on our head for failing to deliver.

The worst is, the pressure from within.

I failed my own standard. I screwed up what I promised. I didn’t get it done.

I’m not cut out for this. I’m washed up. Can’t blame anyone else. This is all my fault.

And soon enough, the lion talks himself into a mouse costume.

He’s a washed up Mickey Mouse knockoff.

WTF, Homie?

Where’s your famous roar?!

Well, they cornered me. I can’t keep going like this.'

Yeah, you and me, both.

Gotta change the tune.

Maybe put on some Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, whatever it is that brings back your mojo.

Pray to G-d.

Go to nature.

Do some yard work.

Remove shrubs.

Carry water. Repeat some zen koan.

Replace your watch battery.

Go love your wife or husband.

Play some sports.

Give your kids a ride on your shoulders.

Rev your car engine on the open road.

Give some money to charity.

Make some long-needed repairs around the house.

Wash the dishes.

Make your bed.

Read a book, get off your screen.

Use that damn Notion template you set up, for once.

Call up some old friends you haven’t talked to.

Get back your damn mojo.

Like, GO GET IT BACK.

Stop waiting for someone to give it back to you.

Are you a fucking lion or some modest mouse?

Who are those fucking hyenas compared to you?

Remember who you are.

Lick your wounds. Maybe see a doctor (or soul doctor).

Back into the wild with you.

And get some f-ing sleep, while you’re at it.

Oh yeah, make time to speak with your favorite confidant, coach or mentor.

Get ready for some fireworks.

Ain’t no AI gonna solve your problems, Debbie Downer.

Rolls up those big boy or girl pants.

Get back in the arena.

Enough whining from the sidelines.

I’ll be right here roaring with you, wherever you go!

Wounded finger, sore throat and all, but still roaring ;)

IN THE NEWS

A couple thoughts about the keys to Employer Branding…

Really enjoyed this interview for HRD Collective about the role of AI in the state of L&D and what leaders need to be aware of:

RECENT SPEAKING ENGAGEMENT

→ Reach out if this subject matter is of interest. I speak a lot on this subject :)

My Offer:

Put 30 minutes on my calendar to chat. No strings attached, whatsoever.

If you enjoyed this newsletter, please forward to a friend (or 5 :) or someone you feel would benefit from reading it!